Region 22 Emergency Management

In 1983, the office of Scotts Bluff County Emergency Management was formed under the Nebraska Emergency Management Act. The original interjurisdictional agreement included Scotts Bluff County and the cities of Gering and Scottsbluff.  In November, 2003, this interlocal agreement was updated to include Banner County.  On February 22, 2008 the office was reorganized as Region 22 Emergency Managment.  Scotts Bluff County, Banner County, the City of Scottsbluff, the City of Gering and the City of Terrytown signed the new interlocal agreement.  The full time office provides emergency management services for all within the agreement and also includes the smaller cities, towns and villages within Scotts Bluff County and Banner County. On March 5, 2010 the Region 22 Emergency Management moved to it's new location at 1801 Ave B, Scottsbluff, NE.

Mitigation, Planning, Response and Recovery is the mission statement for Emergency Management. This office works closely with all agencies in the counties to create a coordinated effort of Emergency Management.

Scotts Bluff County has experienced several emergencies/disasters within the past eleven years.

Those being:

  • The Minatare Tornado - June 9, 1991
  • Tornado northwest of the City of Scottsbluff - July 26, 1993
  • Sugar Factory Explosion - July 20, 1996
  • Train Derailment and Chemical spill in Scottsbluff - November 4, 2000
  • Scottsbluff Tornado – June 7, 2010
  • Henry Flooding – June 17, 2010

These were more easily controlled because of our local coordinated effort in disaster planning and exercising.

Region 22 Emergency Management provides local public awareness programs and training for emergency workers and first responders. Many of these courses are coordinated through Nebraska Emergency Management Agency.

The Federal Government has placed emphasis on hazardous materials storage and planning in each community. Through the SARA TITLE III PROGRAM, it is mandated that each county have a LEPC in place for the purpose of planning, keeping track of the storage facilities, and a plan for response in the event of an incident at a storage facility. The SARA TITLE III PROGRAM is the community's right-to-know where and what is stored in their community. Each facility must report to three agencies - the local fire department, the local emergency planning committee office (this office), and the Department of Environmental Quality. It is further mandated that each county have a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) which is directed under the authority of the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC). This group meets on a quarterly basis.

Contact Information


Public Safety Building
Region 22 Emergency Management
1801 Ave B
Scottsbluff, NE 69361

Office Hours

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Closed through the lunch hour
Closed Weekends and Holidays


308 436-6689 - Main Number
308 632-2916 - FAX Number

Jerry Bretthauer - Director

308 641-0016 - Cell
308 635-0720 - Home

Scotts Bluff County
Administration Building
1825 10th Street
Gering, NE 69341

308 436-6600